Candidates file for municipal posts

Candidates on Tuesday began to file nominating petitions for 2009 municipal elections in Union County.

Filing continues through Monday, Jan. 26. Elections are scheduled in April.


Six candidates filed for various posts which will be on the ballot in Cobden.

Village President (Mayor): Two candidates filed for the post of village president (or mayor).

Those filing for the post were M.M. "Molly" Beckley and Paul "Zee" Tomazzoli. Both currently are serving as members of the Cobden village board of trustees.

Village Trustee: Three candidates had filed for four-year terms on the village's board of trustees. Three posts are open.

Alan Eddington, Dennis Maze and David Stewart filed for the board positions. Eddington is an incumbent.

A two-year term also is open on the village board. Nobody had filed for the post as of Tuesday.

Village Clerk: Incumbent Karen Winzenburger filed for reelection.


Jonesboro voters will elect a mayor, aldermen, city clerk and city treasurer in April.

Mayor: Ken Blandford and Jimmy Watkins filed nominating petitions for mayor. Blandford is the incumbent.

Aldermen: In Ward 1, Dale Russell filed.

In Ward 2, incumbent Lawrence "Sandy" Johnston and Keith Robertson filed.

In Ward 3, incumbent Scott Abernathy and William A. Ecker Jr. filed.

City Clerk: Incumbent Barbara Casper filed for reelection.

Treasurer: Shelly Pender filed.

        Archive Section: 

        The Gazette-Democrat

        112 Lafayette St.
        Anna, Illinois 62906
        Office Number: (618) 833-2158

        Sign Up For Breaking News

        Stay informed on our latest news!

        This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
        9 + 1 =
        Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
        Comment Here