Filing begins Monday for municipal elections

Filing is underway this week for 2011 Union County municipal elections. Elections are scheduled in April.

Candidates could begin filing their nominating petitions on Monday, Dec. 13.

The filing period continues through Monday, Dec. 20.

In Anna, voters will elect a mayor and four city council members next April.

Jim Cross had filed for mayor as of Monday.

In the race for city council, incumbents David Isom, Ron Stamp, Ricky Tweedy and Martha Ann Webb filed for reelection.

Also filing for a post on the Anna City Council were Michael Bigler, Alfred Kamp and David Tellor.

Jonesboro voters will elect aldermen in three wards next year.

In Jonesboro's Ward 1, incumbent Jimmy Watkins had filed.

In Ward 2, Bill Bowen Jr. and Earl Barker Jr. had filed.

In Ward 3, incumbent Mike Stegle had filed.

In Cobden, three positions are open on the village board of trustees. Incumbent Pat Brumleve was the only candidate who had filed as of Monday.

In Dongola, three positions are open on the village board of trustees.

As of Monday, incumbent Dongola trustee Greg Corzine had filed for reelection. John Snell and Richard Micheal also had filed.

        Archive Section: 

        The Gazette-Democrat

        112 Lafayette St.
        Anna, Illinois 62906
        Office Number: (618) 833-2158

        Sign Up For Breaking News

        Stay informed on our latest news!

        This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
        1 + 10 =
        Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
        Comment Here