Moving forward

Union County officeholders took their oaths of office Monday morning. The oaths were administered during a ceremony at the Union County Courthouse in Jonesboro.

Monday's ceremony was significant in several ways. The event was the last one of its kind which will take place in the current courthouse. A new courthouse is under construction. The project is nearing completion. County offices are expected to be moved into the new facility early in 2013.

Three new Union County commissioners also were sworn in during Monday's ceremony. The county now has five commissioners. For many, many years, the county was served by a three-member board of commissioners.

The new commissioners will face a number of challenges. There will be a move into the new courthouse. They will be dealing with making every penny count in tough economic times. They will face special challenges from Springfield, and, most likely, even from Washington, D.C.

We take this opportunity to thank all of those who are willing to serve in public office. We hope the community will support them as they seek to move forward during some very tough and challenging times.

        Archive Section: 

        The Gazette-Democrat

        112 Lafayette St.
        Anna, Illinois 62906
        Office Number: (618) 833-2158

        Sign Up For Breaking News

        Stay informed on our latest news!

        This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
        1 + 5 =
        Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
        Comment Here