Municipal filing ends

Filing ended Monday, Dec. 20, for 2011 Union County municipal elections. Elections are scheduled in April.

The filing period began Monday, Dec. 13, and continued through Dec. 20.

In Anna, voters will elect a mayor and four city council members next April.

Jim Cross and Wayne E. Wilda Jr. filed for mayor in Anna.

In the race for city council, incumbents David Isom, Ron Stamp, Ricky Tweedy and Martha Ann Webb filed for reelection.

Also filing for a post on the Anna City Council were Michael J. Bigler, Jesse Hickam, Alfred Kamp and David Tellor.

Jonesboro voters will elect aldermen in three wards next year.

In Jonesboro's Ward 1, incumbent Jimmy Watkins filed. In Ward 2, Bill Bowen Jr. and Earl Barker Jr. filed. In Ward 3, incumbent Mike Stegle filed.

In Cobden, three positions are open on the village board of trustees. Incumbents Patrick Brumleve, Alma Gomez and Frances Swedlund filed.

In Dongola, three positions are open on the village board of trustees.

Incumbent Greg Corzine and Patrick "Joey" Ferguson  filed. Deena Ferguson-Kelley, Richard Micheal and John L. Snell also filed.

        Archive Section: 

        The Gazette-Democrat

        112 Lafayette St.
        Anna, Illinois 62906
        Office Number: (618) 833-2158

        Sign Up For Breaking News

        Stay informed on our latest news!

        This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
        4 + 1 =
        Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
        Comment Here